News Release

2015 Passages and Milestones

2015 saw the passing of three senior apostles, Elders L. Tom Perry, Boyd K. Packer, and Richard G. Scott.  The vacancies in the Quorum of the Twelve were filled in the October General Conference by Elders Ronald A. Rasband, Gary E. Stevenson, and Dale G. Renlund, the first time in more than a century when three apostles have been called at the same conference.  With the call of Elder Renlund, 100 apostles have now served since the Church was organized in 1830.  

Other Church milestones are chronicled here

The Church in Australia saw continued growth with the formation of the Gosford Australia Stake.

The new temple presidents in Australia in 2015 were Lionel Walters (Sydney Temple) and Robert M. Cowan (Brisbane Temple).  The new mission presidents in Australia in 2015 were Max L. Checketts (Australia Sydney North), R. Jeffrey Parker (Australia Adelaide), and Walter S. Fife (Australia Perth).

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.