Pacific Area

The administration of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is facilitated by geographic areas. In the United States and Canada, each area is overseen by a member of the Presidency of the Quorum of the Seventy who are based in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Other areas are overseen by an area president and two counselors, who are usually members of the Quorums of the Seventy and live in their assigned areas.

Under the direction of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, area presidencies provide spiritual and administrative direction to the leaders and members of the Church in their areas.

There are currently 25 areas:

  • Utah North
  • Utah Salt Lake City
  • Utah South
  • North America Northeast
  • North America Southwest
  • North America Northwest
  • North America West
  • Idaho
  • North America Central
  • North America Southeast
  • Mexico
  • Central America
  • Caribbean
  • South America Northwest
  • Brazil
  • South America South
  • Middle East/North Africa
  • Europe
  • Europe East
  • Asia
  • Asia North
  • Africa West
  • Africa Southeast
  • Philippines
  • Pacific

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.